The sacred music label

What can be the contribution of a new label, in the vast ocean of scores, interpretations, styles, and works?

Psalmus was born in 2007 to achieve an original endeavor and transmit a genuine passion, through a label exclusively dedicated to sacred music.

Psalmus : the search for a soul…
 
…through the  choice of musical works

 

While the sacred repertoire genre is already well existing in current labels catalogues, it is far from being exhausted. Actual treasures of sacred music are still unknown, and some are still even unprecedented. By generating a new creative momentum, Psalmus strives to offer to the public the very essence and emotion of new works, or opportunities to rediscover them with renewed interpretations. A Psalmus CD is an adventure: the discovery of the new face of a seemingly known musical work, of the beauty and rarity of an unseen piece of music.

 

… by talented artists sharing the same passion

Psalmus is in close contact with artists at the research and technique cutting edge in Gregorian chant, Renaissance polyphony, both baroque and classical liturgical chant, as well as contemporary music. Thanks to these contacts, whether they are well-known or budding artists, Psalmus is able to program great original works never heard before, and of the highest interest.

 

… making each recording a  work of art 
 
  • Artistically - through the choice of artists capable of recreating  the full beauty and emotion in the selected works; through an artistic direction concerned with revealing the inner soul and transcendence of this music.
     

  • Technically - Psalmus considers that sound recording technology contributes considerably to the musical quality and the emotional content of the recording. Therefore, we strive to keep the recording chain from the microphones to the recorder as simple as possible, with only the best high-end audio devices, using DSD (Direct Stream Digital: 1 bit) high-resolution audio format. It is nowadays, the only audio format capable of restituting the whole, natural spectrum of emotions of the sound recordings.
     

  • Music intelligence - Psalmus creates thorough booklets captivating from both a historical and musicological point of view. They include comprehensive, accessible historical and musical information, systematic translations of the texts, and detailed learned commentaries to place listeners in the best inspiration to fully appreciate these music treasures.

Le label de la musique sacrée

Que peut donc apporter une nouvelle maison de disques, dans le vaste océan des musiques, des interprétations, des styles et des œuvres ?

Psalmus est né en 2007 pour réaliser un projet original, et pour transmettre une véritable passion, à travers un label dédié à la musique sacrée.

 

Psalmus : à la recherche d’une âme…

 

…dans le choix des oeuvres

Si le répertoire sacré est déjà largement représenté et édité, celui-ci est loin d’être épuisé. De véritables joyaux de la musique sacrée sont encore méconnus ou même inédits ! En suscitant un nouvel élan créatif, Psalmus cherche à offrir au public toute l’essence et l’émotion d’œuvres nouvelles, ou que des interprétations renouvelées permettent de redécouvrir. Un CD Psalmus, c’est aller à la découverte du nouveau visage d’une œuvre que l’on croit connue, de la beauté et de la rareté d’une pièce inédite…

 

… par le talent d’artistes partageant cette passion

Psalmus est en contact étroit avec des artistes qui sont à l’avant-garde de la recherche musicale et artistique en matière de chant grégorien, de musique de la Renaissance, de chant liturgique baroque et classique ou même de musique contemporaine. Ces artistes, qu’ils soient déjà reconnus ou de jeunes talents, lui permettent d’être en mesure de réaliser une programmation originale d’œuvres ou de répertoires jamais entendus et de très grand intérêt.

 

… En faisant de chaque disque une œuvre d’art 

 

  • au plan artistique, par le choix d’interprètes à même de restituer toute la beauté et l’émotion des œuvres préalablement sélectionnées ; par une direction artistique soucieuse d’exprimer la transcendance de cette musique.

 

  • au plan de la qualité sonore, nous considérons que la qualité de la prise de son contribue de manière essentielle à la musicalité et au contenu émotionnel des enregistrements. Psalmus a développé un protocole original d’enregistrement visant à ne tolérer que des appareils et accessoires de la plus haute qualité existante, en nombre aussi limité que possible. Le format DSD - Direct Stream Digital (1 bit) a été retenu pour les masters, puisqu’il est le seul apte, aujourd’hui, à restituer tout le naturel et l’émotion des captations sonores.

 

  • au plan de l'intelligence de la musique, Psalmus réalise des livrets qui comportent, à la fois, une information historique et musicologique complète et accessible, une traduction systématique des textes, ainsi qu’un commentaire propre à introduire au mieux à l’écoute du disque.