Hi-Res Audio FAQ

 

Why should I purchase downloads of Hi-Res Audio records?

Records available to download in Hi-Res Audio have a far superior sound quality with respect to the usual CD, limited by the 16 bits 44 khz format. High quality sound downloads open unlimited bandwidth, extreme transparency and musicality that preserve the full emotion, expressivity and the constitution of the recording.

 

On which device can I read download files?

Files that are available to Hi-Res Audio download can be read by any audio system with a DAC converter compatible with the download format. Most current DACs are compatible with the 24 bits 192 khz format, and more and more tend to accept the DSD format. The latter does exist in DSD64 -2.8 Mhz), DSD128 (5.6 Mhz), DSD256 (10.2 Mhz) and even beyond.

Files available to download are compatible with all audio streaming software accepting the chosen format, and with all computers available on the market.

 

What is the difference between 24 bits 192 khz, DXD and DSD formats?

The first difference consists in the file format. A bit-quantified file such as a 24 bit 192 khz download, or DXD (24 bits 352 khz) exists in the .WAV format. A DSD file (DSD64, DSD128, DSD256) is available in the .DFF format.

 

Without going too much in depth on the difference in design and digitization of these two formats, respectively called PCM and DSD 1 bit, we highlight that the albums available at Psalmus are qualitatively better in sound and musicality with the DSD format. Indeed, they are only available in this format provided that the master itself was recorded in DSD.

 

In terms of quality ordering, DSD256 appears to be the best, followed by the DSD128, and then by DSD64. The latter and the DXD format (24 bits 352 khz) are even. Then come the other 24 bits formats, the 24 bits 192 khz being better than the 24 bits 96 khz.

 

Is the sound significantly better?

Psalmus guarantees that the resolution of downloads available on the website do never exceed the master record resolution. There is no such thing as artificial oversampling, that would not carry any contribution to the sound, and would only be marketing cheap talk.

 

In order to allow the best compatibility with your system, Psalmus offers multi-format downloads. For instance, a DSD256-recorded master will be offered in this very format, but also in inferior formats, such as DSD128, DSD64, DXD, 24 bits 192 khz).

 

By choosing the highest format, you are guaranteed to have the master record sound quality at your disposal. By choosing lower formats, you ensure that the audio streaming will be compatible with your system, if it was not accepting the master format.

 

Regarding sound quality, despite our care and use of the most advanced equipment and software, the CD does not fully capture the master recording sound quality.

 

Our downloads are thus always offered in a superior sound quality than available on a physical CD. It is especially in terms of natural and blatancy that the Hi-Res Audio formats have an edge. It is possible to finally listen to music, being overwhelmed by emotion, while enjoying a full sound that places us right in front of the work.

 

Is the CD booklet provided with the download?

Absolutely, we provide a PDF edition of the CD booklet, as well as the CD front cover visual.

 

What is the data volume to download?

Depending on recordings and formats, the amount of data to be downloaded varies between 2 and 12 Go.

 

What happens once the download has been purchased?

Once your order has been made, you will receive a confirmation of order, as well as a PDF document describing the purchased download.

 

Once your order has been validated, you will receive by email a secure link to download the files. You will also receive an additional email providing you with the password necessary once you have clicked on the download link. 

 

The downloading link is valid for a duration of one month.

 

*

 

If you have any question or inquiry, please contact contact@psalmus.com

FAQ

Hi-Res Audio

 

Pourquoi acheter des enregistrements Hi-Res Audio en téléchargement ?

Les enregistrements proposés en téléchargement Hi-Res Audio sont d’une qualité sonore bien supérieure à celle du CD traditionnel, limité par le format 16 bits 44 khz.

Avec un téléchargement en son haute définition s’ouvre à vous une bande passante quasiment illimitée, une transparence et une musicalité extrêmes, qui préservent toute l'expressivité, l'émotion et le naturel du direct.

 

Sur quel appareil peut-on lire les fichiers en téléchargement ?

Les fichiers proposés en téléchargement Hi-Res Audio sont lisibles par tout système audio disposant d’un convertisseur (DAC) compatible avec le format de téléchargement. La plupart des DAC d’aujourd’hui sont compatibles avec le format 24 bits 192 khz, et de plus en plus acceptent le format DSD. Le format DSD se décline en DSD64 (2,8 Mhz), DSD128 (5,6 Mhz), DSD256 (10,2 Mhz) et au-delà.

Les fichiers proposés en téléchargement sont compatibles avec tous les logiciels de lecture audio pour ordinateur du marché, ainsi que tous les streamers acceptant le format choisi.

 

Quelle est la différence entre le 24 bits 192 khz, le DXD et le DSD ?

La première différence est relative au format de fichier : un fichier quantifié en bits tels qu’un téléchargement 24 bits 192 khz ou DXD (24 bits 352 khz) est proposé au format .WAV

Un fichier DSD (DSD64, DSD128, DSD256) est proposé au format .DFF

Sans s’attarder sur la différence de conception de la numérisation du son de ces deux formats (dit PCM pour les premiers, DSD 1 bit de l’autre), il faut retenir que les albums proposés par PSALMUS sont qualitativement meilleurs en termes de son et de musicalité au format DSD, dans la mesure où ils ne sont proposés sous ce format que si le master lui-même a été enregistré en DSD.

Par ordre de qualité, le DSD256 est le meilleur, suivi du DSD128 et du DSD64. Le format DXD (24 bits 352 khz) fait quasiment jeu égal avec le DSD64. Viennent ensuite les autres formats 24 bits, le 24 bits 192 khz étant meilleur que le 24 bits 96 khz.

 

Le son est-il vraiment meilleur ?

PSALMUS garantit que les téléchargements proposés sur le site sont d’une résolution qui ne dépasse jamais celle du master d’enregistrement. Il n’existe ainsi aucun suréchantillonnage artificiel, qui n’apporterait rien de particulier au son et ne serait que pur argument marketing.

En vue de permettre la meilleure compatibilité possible avec votre système, PSALMUS propose généralement ses téléchargements sous plusieurs format. Par exemple, un master enregistré en DSD256 sera proposé sous ce même format, mais aussi sous des formats inférieurs (DSD128, DSD64, DXD, 24 bits 192 khz).

En choisissant le format le plus élevé, vous avez la garantie de disposer exactement de la qualité du son du master de l’enregistrement. En choisissant des formats moins élevés, vous assurez la compatibilité de la lecture avec votre système s’il n’accepte pas le format du master.

Quant à la qualité sonore, force est de constater que, malgré tous nos soins et l’utilisation de matériels et logiciels les plus perfectionnés existants, le format du CD ne rend pas totalement justice à la qualité sonore du master.

Nos téléchargements sont ainsi toujours d’une qualité sonore qui dépasse celle du CD physique. C’est surtout en matière de naturel et d’évidence que les formats Hi-Res Audio s’imposent. Il est possible d’écouter enfin la musique, d’être gagné par l’émotion tout en profitant d’un son total qui nous met aux prises avec le direct.

 

Le livret du disque est-il fourni  avec le téléchargement ?

Absolument, une version PDF du livret est fournie, ainsi que le visuel du CD.

 

Quel est le volume de données à télécharger ?

Selon les enregistrements et les formats, le volume de données à télécharger par album varie de 2 Go à 12 Go environ.

 

Une fois le téléchargement acheté, que se passe-t-il ?

Une fois votre commande passée, vous recevez une confirmation de commande ainsi qu’un document PDF détaillant le téléchargement acheté.

Une fois votre commande validée, vous recevez par mail un lien sécurisé de téléchargement des fichiers. Vous recevez également un autre mail comportant un mot de passe à utiliser lorsque que vous avez cliqué sur le lien de téléchargement.

Le lien de téléchargement est valable 1 mois.

 

*

 

Pour toute question et renseignement : contact@psalmus.com